25 May 1812 – Macquarie ended divide in VDL

#OnThisDay, 25 May 1812, Governor Lachlan Macquarie gave the General Order for the county of Van Diemen’s Land to be administered as one colony. In doing so, Governor Macquarie effectively abolished the political divide along the 42nd parallel that Governor Philip Gidley King established on 24 September 1804. The Lieutenant-Governors / Commandants who were in charge of their respective county, Buckinghamshire (South) or Cornwall (North), were to now report to the Governor of the Colony in Sydney.



From the Collection

This content is maintained by Engagement & Access Service (EAS). If you have any queries or feedback about this content please contact EAS.