1 Jul 1851 - VIC separated from NSW

#OnThisDay 1 July 1851 Victoria separated from New South Wales. On 5 August 1850 Royal Assent was given to the Imperial Statute An Act for better Government of Her Majesty's Australian Colonies which created the colony of Victoria. The Act was proclaimed on 13 January 1851 and came into effect on 1 July 1851.

The first Legislative Council of Victoria was sworn in on 11 November 1851 following elections in September. Charles La Trobe was the first Lieutenant-Governor.


From the Collection


This content is maintained by Public Access. If you have any queries or feedback about this content please contact Public Access.