11 Aug 1824 - NSW constituted a Crown Colony

#OnThisDay 11 August 1824 New South Wales was constituted a Crown Colony. The Colony was established in 1788 as a penal colony and Crown Colony status was the first step towards responsible government; NSW had more freedom but the administration and legislature was still controlled by the British Crown.

The NSW Act 1823 (UK) authorised the establishment of a Legislative Council and Supreme Court. The twelve members of the Legislative Council were appointed by Britain's Secretary of State.


  • The Governor: Despatches from the Secretary of State, NRS 4512 [4/1310 Despatch No. 96, 1840], available in the reading room.


This content is maintained by Public Access. If you have any queries or feedback about this content please contact Public Access.