14 Jun 1825 - VDL separated from NSW

#OnThisDay 14 June 1825 Van Diemen's Land officially separated from New South Wales. Van Diemen's Land, named by Abel Tasman after the Governor General of the Dutch East Indies, was settled as a penal colony by the British in 1803. The order-in-council in June allowed for Van Diemen's Land to become a colony in its own right with an appointed Executive Council and Legislative Council. Responsible self-government was granted in 1856 and the colony changed its name to Tasmania in honour of Abel Tasman.


See entries in the Colonial Secretary's Papers under Van Diemen's Land
Screenshot from the Col Sec papers for Van Diemens Land

From the Collection

Related Guides: