6 Dec 1810 - 'Macquarie Towns' named

#OnThisDay 6 December 1810 Governor Macquarie named the five 'Macquarie Towns' of Richmond, Castlereagh, Pitt Town, Wilberforce and Windsor while touring the Hawkesbury region.

  • Windsor was named after its namesake village in England
  • Castlereagh after Lord Viscount Castlereagh
  • Pittown after politician William Pitt
  • Wilberforce after William Wilberforce, and
  • Richmond from its beautiful surroundings.


From the Collection

This content is maintained by Public Access. If you have any queries or feedback about this content please contact Public Access.