8 Apr 1817 - Bank of NSW established

#OnThisDay 8 April 1817, the first bank in Australia, the Bank of New South Wales (BNSW) was established. It was founded by Governor Lachlan Macquarie and bank branches were initially restricted to NSW. In 1850 the bank began to expand, first to Brisbane, followed by Victoria (1851), South Australia (1877), Western Australia (1883) and Tasmania (1910).


Colonial Secretary's Papers, 1788-1825 - list of entries under Bank of New South Wales
Screenshot showing entries for Bank of New South Wales

This content is maintained by Public Access. If you have any queries or feedback about this content please contact Public Access.