9 Feb 1875 - Third time lucky for John Robertson

#OnThisDay, 9 February 1875, Sir John Robertson (1816-1891), the fifth premier of NSW, began his third ministry which lasted until 21 March 1877 when he was defeated in a by-election by Sir Henry Parkes. Robertson is known for his support of responsible government and for his 1861 ‘Robertson Lands Act’ established in his first premiership (ADB, 1976).



Image of Sir John Robertson courtesy of the NSW Parliamentary Archives

Sir John Robertson (1816-1891). Image courtesy of NSW Parliamentary Archives