State Archives and Records Authority of NSW confirms new Board for 2019

The new line-up of Board members at the State Archives and Records Authority of NSW has been confirmed today, with the announcement of the reappointment of Rodney Wallis and new members Lauren Eyles, the Hon Shayne Mallard MLC, Cr David Walton as well as Dr Brian Lindsay, who will take up the role as Chair.

The new appointments to the State Archives and Records Authority Board are:

  • Lauren Eyles (Member representing State owned corporations) – Current Head of Public Affairs at Hunter Water, with previous leadership experience at Port of Newcastle and Newcastle Port Corporation.
  • Dr Brian Lindsay (Member representing the history profession) and Chair – Holds a PhD in History from the University of New South Wales and has varied professional experience in both the history and public sectors including acting as the Chief of Staff to the President of the Legislative Council between 2011 and 2016. Dr Lindsay is currently a professional historian, researcher and author.
  • The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC (Member or officer of either House of Parliament) – Prior to entering Parliament, Mr Mallard had an extensive career in local government and policy development in the areas of land use planning, infrastructure, transport and social engagement. He also has experience as a Board member of the NSW State Records Authority and the Centennial Park and Moore Park Trusts for the NSW Government.
  • Rodney Wallis (reappointed Member representing the private sector) – Managing Director of MUFG, Japan’s largest bank and one of the largest foreign banks in Australia. Previous experience as Executive Director, Utilities and Infrastructure, ANZ International and Institutional Bank.
  • David Walton (Member representing Local Government) Current Northern Beaches Councillor and a non-executive Director and Chairman of an APRA regulated public company. Previous work experience includes a focus on audit and risk within NSW public offices and experience with the State Records Act 1998.

Continuing State Archives and Records Authority Board members are:

  • Jeffrey Greenwood (Member representing State law enforcement agencies) – Current Manager Process and Records Services, NSW Police Force. Mr Greenwood’s experience includes more than 30 years strategic leadership and management experience across both the private and public sectors.
  • Hon. Justice Geoff Lindsay (Member representing a Court of NSW) – Current Justice of the NSW Supreme Court and a member of the NSW Bar Association Legal History Committee. Prior to this, Justice Lindsay was the Bar Association’s nominee to Uniform Rules Committee and Supreme Court Rules Committee as well as the nominee to the NSW Legal Aid Commission and Public Interest Clearing House.
  • Alex O’Mara (Member representing Public Service agencies) – Current Deputy Secretary for Create NSW, part of the Department of Planning and Environment, which supports the arts, screen and cultural sectors in NSW and leads the delivery of cultural infrastructure. Ms O’Mara has a proven record in leading the delivery of multi-dimensional projects, including infrastructure, policy and reform as well as complex stakeholder engagement. She is a qualified lawyer with private sector experience.
  • Elizabeth Tydd (Member representing Public Service agencies) – Current NSW Information Commissioner and CEO of the Information and Privacy Commission, with Board and Committee experience including Trustee of the Responsible Gambling Fund, the University of Technology Law Advisory Board and the boards of the Delta Society and the Catholic Development Fund Sydney.